Country of residence:

Tier-1 Visa

Please give your vote for this product:

4.28 out of 5 based on
183 vote(s).

UK Tier-1 Visa

The UK Tier 1 Visa is designed to allow highly skilled workers to migrate to the UK for work or self-employment opportunities.

This UK Visa replaced the previous UK Skilled Migrant Visa - the Highly Skilled Migration Programme (HSMP) - in 2008.

Like the old UK Skilled Migrant Visa, the UK Tier-1 Visa uses a points-based system to determine your eligibility.

To be eligible for a UK Tier 1 Visa, you need score 95 points in the points test. Visit Am I Eligible? for more information. Points are awarded to skilled migrants based on:
  • Qualifications
  • Age
  • Past earnings
  • UK Work Experience
  • UK Qualifications
  • English language ability
  • Available funds to support yourself in the UK

The UK Tier 1 skilled migration programme allows visa holders to settle in the UK and work without restrictions for an initial period of two years, which can then be extended by another three years. After five years visa holders can apply for permanent residence. The UK Tier-1 points-based system does not require sponsorship by family or an employer and is different from a work permit because it does not require an employer to obtain a permit for you.

You can apply for this UK visa either from within the UK (unless you are a tourist or visitor in the UK).From 23 December 2010 Tier 1 (General) is closed to overseas applicants.

Complete the points test and registration form here and then Visa First will send you all the necessary forms to apply for your UK Tier 1 Visa.

Note: Once you have been approved for a UK Tier 1 Visa you should apply for either entry clearance to come to the UK (if you are out of the UK) or leave to remain (if you are in the UK).